Community Development Department

Stephen H. Burns – Community Development Director

The Community Development Department was created in 2007 to provide code enforcement, planning, geographic information systems (GIS) and community development services. We deal with most land use, construction, development and conservation issues facing the community.

  
Contact InformationMinimize

Address/Location
186 York Street
York, Maine 03909
ph. (207) 363-1002/1007
fax (207) 363-1009

Code Enforcement Walk-In Hours
M/Th/F 8:00 AM – 11:40 AM
Tuesdays 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Stephen H. Burns
Community Development Director
sburns@yorkmaine.org
(207) 363-1007, Ext. 241

Dylan Smith
Town Planner
dsmith@yorkmaine.org    
(207) 363-1007, Ext. 242

Brett Horr
GIS Manager
bhorr@yorkmaine.org
(207) 363-1007, Ext. 243

Amber Harrison
Code Enforcement Officer

Local Plumbing Inspector

Shoreland Resource Officer

Health Officer
aharrison@yorkmaine.org
(207) 363-1002, Ext. 244

 

Kathy Newell
Assistant Code Enforcement Officer

Local Plumbing Inspector

/Assistant Shoreland Resource Officer
knewell@yorkmaine.org
(207) 363-1002, Ext. 245

 

Luke Vigue
Appraiser

Assistant Code Enforcement Office

Local Plumbing Inspector
lvigue@yorkmaine.org
(207) 363-1005, Ext. 263

 

Leslie Hinz
Stormwater Manager

Assistant Shoreland Resource Officer
lhinz@yorkmaine.org
(207) 363-1002, Ext. 247

 

Catherine Harman
Administrative Assistant
charman@yorkmaine.org
(207) 363-1002, Ext. 248

Code Enforcement Walk-In HoursMinimize

The Department has set hours where you may speak with a Code Enforcement Officer without an appointment.  These hours are listed above, on near the top right of this page.  This is time we offer for you to ask general questions about codes and permitting, to review building files, and to submit permit applications for smaller projects such as decks, minor additions, garages and so forth.  This is not the time to submit applications for larger projects such as the construction of a new house or a new commercial building.  For larger projects, or for anything that will require more than about 15 minutes, please call 363-1002 and ask Catherine to help you schedule an appointment with one of our Code Enforcement Officers.  Thank you!

© 2011-2013 Town of York, MainePrivacy StatementTerms Of Use
Small width layoutMedium width layoutMaximum width layoutMaximum textMedium textSmall text